So three nights ago I work up with a sore throat. But during the day it went away. Well then the next night it hurt again. So I decided I better have a look at what was going on. I got out my flashlight and opened my mouth wide with my tong down and what do you think I found?? Some very swollen tonsils and yes they had little white spots on them:( So because everyone here in insured I decided to go to the heath office. I went up to the receptionist and explained to her that I thought I had strep throat. She thought it was pretty funny that I had diagnosed my self but then informed me that the doc was full today but that I could see a nurse. Well she then informed me that my insurance had run out. well that's funny I thought because I just got here a week ago! So she told me she would keep me on the list for the nurse and would call Victoria International. Well I finally got into the nurse and she moved me on to the doctor. ( I guess they did have room) And after looking at my for a few seconds she told me she would put me on antibiotics! No awful throat swab no blood test no waiting! So after that I took my receipt up to Vic International and had to file an insurance clam. I then walked into town and again now waiting involved got my 30 giant pills of Penicillin. The good news is I'm 4 pills in and I feel fantastic! Thank you New Zealand health care!
Well that night we had a catch up dinner at a bar/restaurant in town by the waterfront. There was a fixed menu with a 57$ value. Well when you get a meal worth 57$ there is one downside. Expensive food means food I don't really care for. I know I know I call my self a foodie and there is food I don't like!??! Well its true! I am really not a big fan of lamb or of fish SO...lucky me I got to have risotto!
My meal started off with Pumpkin tomato soup with garlic bread and plain bread! It was fantastic! Next I had my risotto with mixed grilled veggies and salad on top with some really good dressing! It was the best meal I have had in a long time! And to finish things off I had sticky date pudding with butterscotch sauce! I was the happiest camper and so full that I was afraid I wasn't going to make it back up the hill to my flat!
I got home and my Samoan flat mates were throwing down! They were very sad when I told them that I would not be going out. But were very understanding of the fact that I was sick.
Although they were understanding they did not really try to keep the noise level down. But thanks to my very tech savvy father I slipped in my noise canceling headphones and fell right to sleep!
I woke up this morning went to the gym went to class. Had my fist art history class...turns out I took it already at conn...much switch that tomorrow. Stole some Pizza from housing welcome party that I do not live in and here I am at about 8pm and I'm ready for bed!
Cheers all hope you have a fantastic 14th of July! I'm onto the 15th but I'll be back with you in November!
Sucks about the strep throat. But I'm glad you could diagnose yourself!!
ReplyDeleteHope you had a good ides of July! (The 15th).